You can’t prepare to be injured in a motor vehicle accident, but you can ensure both you and your car are protected in the event of a collision when you carry auto insurance on your vehicle. In fact, you’ll be required to carry such coverage if you live in Massachusetts.
Auto insurance laws in our state can be complex, as we live in a no-fault state for auto insurance purposes. Read on to learn more about living in a no-fault state and how to get the most out of your claim.
What it Means to Live In a No-Fault State
Massachusetts is a no-fault state in regards to auto insurance and car accidents. This means that your own insurance provider will compensate you for a portion of your injuries when you carry auto insurance on your vehicle, without regard for who is liable for the cause of the accident.
This portion of your auto insurance is known as personal injury protection (PIP). The state minimum for such coverage is $8,000.
In addition to carrying PIP coverage, you’ll need to have a minimum of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident in bodily injury to others and bodily injury caused by an uninsured motorist. Finally, you’ll need to carry $5,000 per accident for damage you cause to someone else’s property.
Maximizing Your Settlement
Your PIP coverage will reimburse you for up to 75 percent of your lost wages, the loss of certain household services that you may have to hire someone to perform, and your medical expenses. However, your medical expenses will only be covered up to the limits of your policy.
This is where things can get a little complicated, as the amount that will be covered will depend on the type of health insurance policy you have. If you have private insurance, say through Boston Medical Center Healthnet plan or Tufts Health plan, you can expect your PIP coverage to pay for the first $2,000 of your medical expenses before your health insurance kicks in.
But if you have Medicaid or Masshealth, and you purchased only the bare minimum auto insurance requirements, then you can expect your auto insurance provider to pay for up to $8,000 of your medical expenses, and the rest will be covered by the insurance company.
Reach Out to a Massachusetts Car Accident Lawyer
If you need help dealing with an insurance company that is refusing to pay you what you’re entitled to, or if you’re ready to move forward with your civil auto wreck claim, work with an experienced Massachusetts car accident lawyer at Joel H. Schwartz, PC.
We are proud to provide injury victims with a complimentary case review, where we can go into greater detail about your accident and resulting injuries. You can schedule yours today when you fill out the brief contact form located at the bottom of this page. Or, you can give our office a call at 1-800-660-2270.